Practical Assessment

 
Home
 
About Us
 
Examination Entry
 
Attainable Qualifications
 
Prospective Candidates
 
Contact Us
Tuition | Practical Assessment | Mock Exams & Cramming Classes | Entry Fees | Entry Deadlines | The Centre | Testimonials | FAQ
Contact Details
Tel:
0117 910 9931
Email:
Fax:
0117 956 2740

Practical Assessment

Practical Assessment

A-Level Biology, Chemistry and Physics candidates can book and complete their Practical Skills Assessment (aka Practical Endorsement) at our Private Examination Centre.

The practical assessment for each subject will involve candidates attending for 5 consecutive days (40-hours in-lab time) in state-of-the-art laboratories made available to us at the prestigious School of Biological Sciences at the University of Bristol.

For 2018, the practical assessment dates are as follows: -

A-Level Physics: Monday 16th April, Tuesday 17th April, Wednesday 18th April, Thursday 19th April and Friday 20th April
A-Level Biology: Monday 23rd April, Tuesday 24th April, Wednesday 25th April, Thursday 26th April and Friday 27th April
A-Level Chemistry: Monday 30th April, Tuesday 1st May, Wednesday 2nd May, Thursday 3rd May and Friday 4th May

The practicals for each Science will be based on 12 set practical tasks and will encompass staff-led demonstrations, practical tuition and hands-on experience; enabling candidates to acquire and be able to demonstrate competency consistently in a number of key skill areas as required by the Common Practical Assessment Criteria (CPAC).

Candidates who successfully demonstrate the required competency across all the requirements of the CPAC will receive a ‘pass’ grade in the subject concerned. This will be reported separately on their certificate alongside their overall A-Level grade (A-Level grades are only based on the marks achieved in the written exams. The CPAC eliminates the need for a practical exam).

Candidates will be sent a lab book prior to attending, which must be used to keep a formal record of their assessed practical activities. The lab book will also contain certain tasks that the candidate must complete in advance.

For further details regarding the Practical Assessment or to request an entry form, please 
contact us.



College Address
3A Tutors Ltd
1A High Street
Staple Hill
Bristol
BS16 5HA